PSP: A Retrospective of 2008

The PSP has always played a second to my DS when it comes to portable gaming, but dang it if I don’t love the thing with its few, but usually awesome exclusives. But overall, this year has been disappointing. The year started off great with exclusives like God of War: Chains of Olympus, FF VII: Crisis Core, and Patapon. Meanwhile, I was still playing Puzzle Quest. As a gamer, I have many games to play every year, besides the ones for PSP, so I don’t need a slew of fantastic games coming out all year. The problem is, if I were just getting into portable gaming this year, the PSP doesn’t look like a very exciting investment. And if the system doesn’t sell, Developers will not make more games.

Checking out some major websites, and doing some loose math, There were about 85 games released for the PSP this year in North America. A dozen of these were yearly updates to sports games, and I for one do not know anyone who buys a yearly edition sports game for a portable. This compairs to last year list of over 140 games, and 2006 had over 160 games. Last year, the PSN release 17 titles for download play on the PSP, this year there were only 6. We are just talking about shear numbers, none of this even speaks to the quality of the games released. I know Sony is really pushing the PS3 and getting Home out, but it seems it left the PSP behind.

Like I said, there were some blockbuster titles for spring, but besides some titles sprinkled throughout the rest of the year, and only half a dozen games coming from the PSN, the release list was rather flat. But, as an RPG fan, I am stoked at the redux of Star Ocean: First Departure that came out in October, with the sequal coming out in January, along with Mana Khemia: Student Alliance, and Phantasy Star both slated for early next year. Yeah, the PSP will be alright, but things could be better.

Now, if you will excuse me, I’m going to go pick up a copy of Dungeon Maker II: The Hidden War.

One Response to “PSP: A Retrospective of 2008”

  1. Ew Dungeon Maker. Now, I paid a lot for my PSP. And at launch the quality of titles out were crap. Granted, seeing graphics of that nature on a portable screen were jaw dropping, but only at first. Now my problem with the DS is the same I have with all Nintendo platforms, their quality control is utterly laughable. Its seemingly non-existent. So the amount of crap games on Nintendo consoles towers over the competition (not in a good way) So, no portable is without its faults or lackluster games. But ultimately, the PSP can be seen as more of a portable media hub (much in the same way the PS3 is viewed minus the portable part) I love my PSP. I’ll never get rid of it. Oh and star ocean is awesome.

Leave a Reply

