Crasheriffic Content for Fallout 3

thepittscreen_04B

Like many Fallout 3 fans who bought the PS3 version of the game, I have waited none too patiently for the downloadable content. Now that it’s here, I almost wish I hadn’t bothered.

Ten minutes into Broken Steel, just outside the citadel, the game froze. Irritating but no big deal, right? There are always going to be bugs. It’s inevitable. I rebooted the system and tried again. Life was shiny and wonderful for another ten minutes and then it happened again.

And again.

And again.

And again.

New areas, old areas, in the middle of shootouts with the Enclave, walking up the stairs in my Megaton house, talking to a random NPC, opening my Pipboy menu, the list goes on. It didn’t seem to make a difference what I was trying to do or where or how or why, if I was starting to enjoy the game, it was ready for another crash. At this point I have to note that since 2007 when we bought the PS3, my system has crashed maybe five times total. Interestingly enough, those crashes occurred while playing Elder Scrolls 4: Oblivion.

I barely made it through the Broken Steel content with twenty crashes. Operation: Anchorage fared much worse with a crash every ten minutes; I wish I was exaggerating, but I literally had to save the game every nine minutes. The Pitt was the most playable with five crashes total, and at this point, it was the most enjoyable. Edited to add: on a second playthrough, the Pitt was just as buggy as the other downloads.

Is the downloadable content worth buying? Do you enjoy seeing your character freeze in the middle of a gunfight? Do you want to slog through the same areas over and over again? Do you love the sound the PS3 makes as it reboots? If the answer is yes, then the downloadable content is definitely for you!

3 Responses to “Crasheriffic Content for Fallout 3”

  1. lol. that about sums it up right. i haven’t even played the content yet. mainly because i haven’t beaten the story mode.

  2. Wow, that’s pretty terrible. Sorry to hear about your experiences with the DLC for Fallout 3.

    I purchased the PC version of Fallout 3 (primarily for the ability to add third party mods) so I’ve had better luck with DLC myself.

    Looks like the Bethesda dev team needs more flight hours with the PS3 architecture.

Leave a Reply

