Konami Announces HD Collections of Zone of the Enders, Silent Hill, and Metal Gear Solid; Commence with the celebrating.

At their pre-E3 press conference, Konami Digital Entertainment has announced HD Collections for fan favorites Zone of the Enders and Metal Gear Solid.

The Zone of the Ender’s HD Collection will be available on the PS3 and Xbox 360, and include ZoE 1 and 2. The Metal Gear Solid HD Collection will be available on the PS3 and Xbox 360, and will include Metal Gear Solid 2: Sons of Liberty, Metal Gear Solid 3: Snake Eater, and Metal Gear Solid: Peacewalker.

The Metal Gear Solid collection is slated for November of 2011, while the Zone of the Enders collection is slated for some time in 2012. It’s hard for me to type this through my tears of joy. It’s going to be a long wait for these two collections to hit, but it’s worth it, as all 5 of the titles in these two collections are some of the best gaming experiences of the last generation.

No other details have been given concerning features/content, but I’m expecting the standard locked down framerate, Trophies/Achievements, and anti-aliasing for those nasty jaggies.

I’ve been holding on to my BC PS3 so I can keep playing some of my favorite PS2 titles, but with these constant HD Re-masters, it’s looking like Backward’s Compatibility is becoming a feature of the past.

UPDATE: This story just keeps getting better and better: Konami also revealed a Silent Hill HD Collection, featuring HD Remastered versions of Silent Hill 2 and 3 (arguably the best two in the entire series). I don’t know if I can take much more of this awesomeness. Forgive me, I think I’m getting a little verklempt…

2 Responses to “Konami Announces HD Collections of Zone of the Enders, Silent Hill, and Metal Gear Solid; Commence with the celebrating.”

  1. oner001 Says:

    I know you must be absolutely loving this! Personally I am not going to buy these for a play through when these are released…but if they end up in the bin @ Walmart @ a discounted price or given as a present I sure as hell would!

    • Definitely. I’m a HUGE MGS and SH fan. Back when I worked at Konami last year, I had heard rumors about an MGS collection, but not a peep about ZoE and SH collections. A welcome surprise!

Leave a Reply

